Environmental Protection Authority (Australia)

The Environmental Protection Authority (EPA) was originally established in 1971.

The Authority comprises five members appointed by the Governor on the recommendation of the Minister for Environment.

The EPA is independent, in that it is not subject to direction by the Minister, and its advice to Government is public. EPA members are not public servants.

Its operations are governed by the Environmental Protection Act 1986 which stipulates that the objective of the EPA is to: 'use its best endeavours – a) to protect the environment; and b) to prevent, control and abate pollution and environmental harm.'

The Act defines the environment as 'living things, their physical, biological and social surroundings, and interactions between all of these'.